About DevNet


The Aotearoa New Zealand International Development Studies Network (DevNet) is an interface amongst people and organisations working in or researching international development. It facilitates the exchange of ideas, information and research amongst Development Studies’ (and related disciplines’) staff, students and other stakeholders in development. These include aid and development NGOs, private sector development practitioners and government (especially the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade). The network closely follows the key strategic priorities of MFAT, including a strong Pacific focus in our events. DevNet biennial conferences are Aotearoa New Zealand’s largest conferences on international development.

DevNet Steering committee

You can find the new DevNet Organisation website here, please contact one of the co-chairs for more information.  You can sign up for the DevNet mailing list here, or contact your organisation’s local representative.


Regina Scheyvens (Massey) R.A.Scheyvens@massey.ac.nz
Kelly Dombroski (Canterbury) kelly.dombroski@canterbury.ac.nz

Committee members

Mike Lyne (Lincoln) Michael.Lyne@lincoln.ac.nz
John Overton (Victoria) John.Overton@vuw.ac.nz
Gauri Nanedkar (Waikato) gauri.nandedkar@waikato.ac.nz
Doug Hill (Otago) dph@geography.otago.ac.nz
Pedram Pirnia (AUT) pedram.pirnia@aut.ac.nz
Andreas Neef (Auckland) a.neef@auckland.ac.nz
Andrew Johnston (CID) Andrew.Johnston@scnz.org.nz
Pete Zwart (MFAT) peter.zwart@mfat.govt.nz
Kate Boocock (MFAT) kate.boocock@mfat.govt.nz
Liz Paton (MFAT) Liz.Paton@mfat.govt.nz

DevNet 2018 Conference

The conference theme “Disruption and Renewal” is evocative of key issues in international development, from climate disruption affecting the Pacific and Asia, to political disruptions in the region such as the refugee crisis in Myanmar and its effects on Bangladesh. Disruption and renewal also closely resonates with the people of Canterbury, given our experiences with the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes, and the more recent 2016 earthquake in Kaikoura.

Conference Organising Committee

Kelly Dombroski – Canterbury (Chair)
Pascale Hatcher – Canterbury (Deputy chair)
Steven Ratuva – Canterbury
Michael Lyne – Lincoln
Edward Challies – Canterbury
Kate Boocock – MFAT
Alison Watkins – Canterbury (Administrator)

If you have any questions, please contact us at devnet2018@canterbury.ac.nz

%d bloggers like this: